An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

My Coast Guard
Commentary | Aug. 29, 2020

Event: White House Fellowship info session, Sept. 17


Becoming a White House Fellow can transform your career and leadership abilities. 

Coast Guard Congressional Affairs and White House Fellowship alumni will host an informational session on Sept. 17 to discuss the fellowship application process, share their experiences, and answer questions from interested applicants.

The program is open to both enlisted and officers, both active duty and reserve members. Contact Michele Zauche  ( if you’d like to attend the virtual information session on Thursday, Sept. 17 from 2 p.m. to 3:30 p.m., Eastern time.  

The White House Fellows program draws exceptional individuals for one year of personal involvement in the process of government. Fellows serve as special assistants to high-ranking officials of the executive branch, including cabinet secretaries and senior members of the Executive Office of the President.

Lt. Cmdr. Elizabeth Gillis participated in the program serving in the U.S. Department of the Treasury during her fellowship. In this video Gillis talks about her experience in the program.

The informational session will review specifics of the application and appointment process. Both active duty and reserve mid-grade officers and enlisted members are encouraged to apply. While the selection process is managed entirely by the White House, applicants should notify the Office of Congressional & Governmental Affairs. 

The Coast Guard’s White House Fellowship Alumni have served in some remarkable capacities, including:

  • Lt. Cmdr., Reserve, Travis Thul has been selected for the 2020-2021 class - Export Import Bank of the United States.
  • Lt. Cmdr. Elizabeth Gillis (2018-2019) - U.S. Department of the Treasury
  • Lt., Reserve, Brian Churchill (2018-2019) - Overseas Private Investment Corporation.
  • Lt. Cmdr. Linden Dahlkemper (2016-2017) - General Services Administration
  • Lt. Cmdr. LaShanda Holmes (2015-2016) -  Office of the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) administrator
  • Capt. (sel) Kate Higgins-Bloom (2014-2015) - Office of the First Lady
  • Cmdr. Anne O’Connell (2012-2013 ) - U.S. Domestic Policy Council
  • Lt. Cmdr., Reserve, Clay Pell (2011-2012) - U.S. National Security Council
  • Capt. Holly Harrison (2010-2011) - Office of the NASA administrator
  • Capt., retired, Jonathan Spaner (2002-2003) - White House Homeland Security Council Staff


  •  To learn more about the program, fellowship alumni, and the application process, please visit the White House Fellows Foundation and Association website.