An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

My Coast Guard
Commentary | July 1, 2021

BZ: USCG Auxiliary turns 82, and more

By MyCG Staff

USCG Auxiliary turns 82: Happy birthday and congratulations to the U.S. Coast Guard Auxiliary, which has reached a milestone—82 years of exemplary service! Congress formed The U.S. Coast Guard Auxiliary in 1939 as an organization of volunteers to promote boating safety and augment the Coast Guard. The scope of Auxiliary support of Coast Guard units and missions has expanded tremendously over the years. Auxiliarists can be found providing interpreter and translation services in a multitude of languages, assisting the Coast Guard with cyber-related issues, and playing an integral role in the District Chaplain community. During the pandemic, the Auxiliarists rose to the challenge in many ways, including helping with getting much-needed medical supplies to those in remote locations and providing critical health services to Coast Guard clinics. The Auxiliarists have truly exemplified the core values of Honor, Respect, and Devotion to Duty. Thank you for your commitment, compassion, and contribution. You are vital to the United States Coast Guard. Check out the 82ND Birthday of the United States Coast Guard Auxiliary ALCOAST 227/21 for more information.

Winners of the 2020 Admiral Russell R. Waesche Award announced. The Admiral Russell R. Waesche Award recognizes a district, the Director of Operational Logistics (DOL) or Pacific Area-13 (PACAREA-13) for Port Security Units (PSUs) and Maritime Expeditionary Security Force (MESF), which have demonstrated themselves to be the most supportive of a totally integrated Coast Guard. There are two categories for the award. Category 1 units have fewer than 600 Selected Reservists (SELRES) assigned, and Category 2 units have 600 or more SELRES assigned. The Category 1 award recipient was the Ninth Coast Guard District. The 13th Coast Guard District received honorable mention. The DOL received the Category 2 award. The Eighth Coast Guard District received honorable mention. The awards will be presented at the 2021 ROA National Convention to be held Oct. 21 to 24, 2021, in Memphis, Tennessee. Congratulations to the winners. See ALCOAST 233/21 for more information.

Reserve Outstanding Chief Warrant Officer of the Year recognized. Bravo Zulu to the awardees. This award is presented by the Reserve Organization of America (ROA) to the Coast Guard Reserve’s nominee for the CW4 Michael J. Novosel Award. The winner was Chief Warrant Officer 2 Jeremy Bloom of Sector Maryland-National Capitol Region. Chief Warrant Officer 2 Billy J. Cline of Sector Charleston received honorable mention. This award, along with other awards for Reservists, will be presented at the 2021 ROA National Convention to be held 21 to 24 October 2021, in Memphis, Tenn. You can find more information in the 2020 Coast Guard Reserve National Awards Selection ALCOAST 233/21.

2020 John J. Jaskot Governmental Affairs Officer (GAO) of the Year Awardee named: Congratulations to Feba Thomas, Atlantic Area GAO, who is the winner of the 2020 “John J. Jaskot Governmental Affairs Officer of the Year Award.” This prestigious annual award recognizes Coast Guard active duty, reserve, civilian, and auxiliary members who have excelled in executing GAO responsibilities during the previous calendar year. The award is named in honor of Cmdr. John J. Jaskot, who set the standard for representing the Coast Guard to the U.S. Congress. Thomas has over 21 years of service to the Coast Guard governmental affairs community. Among her many accomplishments in 2020, Thomas maximized virtual and modified in-person engagement opportunities including the 2020 Atlantic Area change of command, multiple cutter changes of command, major cutter changes in homeports, and a National Security Cutter commissioning. Bravo Zulu to Thomas and the other nominees for the 2020 award. They were: Cmdr. Reyna McGrail, D8; Lt. Cmdr. Scott Carr, PACAREA; Lt.j.g. Liesl Olson, Sector San Diego; and Chief Warrant Officer Timothy Tamargo, Training Center Cape May. For more information see the 2020 John J. Jaskot Governmental Affairs Officer (GAO) of the Year Award Recipient ALCOAST 212/21. Questions regarding the John J. Jaskot Governmental Affairs Officer of the Year Award may be directed to Michele Zauche, COMDT (CG-0921).

Bravo Zulu to the winners of the Fiscal Year 2020 DHS Honorary Acquisition Program Management Awards. Congratulations to the four individuals and one team who were selected as recipients of the Fiscal Year 2020 DHS Honorary Acquisition Program Management Awards. These awards recognize the highest level of professional excellence in attaining program success across DHS. Rear Adm. Douglas M. Schofield, Assistant Commandant for Acquisition and Chief Acquisition Officer, said, “These awards are an example of all of the acquisition workforce’s actions to provide outstanding innovation, research and development, contracting, acquisition programs, and acquisition services to our operational and mission support stakeholders. Thank you for modernizing our Coast Guard.” The winners were:

  • DHS Level 3 Acquisition Program of the Year – Polar Star Service Life Extension Program (SLEP)
  • DHS Acquisition Program Support Professional of the Year – Felix E. Delgado
  • DHS Program Financial Manager of the Year – Brent N. Durbin
  • DHS Life Cycle Logistician of the Year – Daniel W. Eustace.
  • DHS Information Technology Professional of the Year – Gurdev S. Bajwa.

For more information, please email Loretta Haring.