An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

My Coast Guard
Commentary | Aug. 19, 2021

BZ:  Women’s Equality Day marks a time to celebrate Coast Guardswomen’s service, contributions and successes, and more

By Nicole Bertrand, MyCG Staff

Women’s Equality Day marks a time to celebrate Coast Guardswomen’s service, contributions and successes. With Women’s Equality Day rapidly approaching us, we want to acknowledge and thank all of the exceptional women who help make the Coast Guard what it is. August 26 marks the passage of the 19th Amendment to the U.S. Constitution, which granted women the right to vote nationally. The state of Tennessee provided the required 36th vote when it ratified the amendment on August 18th, 1920, and the proclamation was signed on the 26th. In 1972, Richard Nixon issued a Presidential Proclamation designating August 26, as "Women's Rights Day." The following year, Congress formally adopted the date as "Women's Equality Day." This year, Admiral Linda L. Fagan became the first woman to achieve the rank of four-star admiral. She currently serves as vice commandant of the U.S. Coast Guard. Women throughout the Coast Guard continue to advance the 19th Amendment’s historic achievements every day through their service and commitment, providing remarkable examples of success at all levels of our service to present and future generations. Read more in the Women’s Equality Day ALCOAST 287/21.

Bravo Zulu to the 2020 CAPT Godfrey L. Carden and BM1 John C. Cullen Maritime Security Response Operations (MSRO) Excellence Award. The Excellence Awards recognize a Coast Guard unit and individual who have consistently demonstrated outstanding contributions and achievements in the ports, waterways, and coastal security (PWCS) mission, specifically in the performance of MSRO activities. Sector Houston Galveston (SHG) received the 2020 CAPT Godfrey L. Carden MSRO Unit Excellence Award. Despite a record-breaking hurricane season (eight named storms in the Gulf alone) occurring amidst the COVID-19 pandemic, SHG maximized MSRO performance efficiency with an average of 91.75% across the Houston-Galveston and Port Arthur Captain of the Port (COTP) zones. Lt.j.g. Christopher White is the recipient of the 2020 BM1 John C. Cullen MSRO Individual Excellence Award. White displayed an unwavering commitment to the MSRO program at Sector Long Island Sound (SLIS). He partnered with SLIS field units to achieve a consistent 90% or greater efficiency metric in the second, third, and fourth quarters of calendar year 2020. Congratulations to Sector Houston Galveston and Lt.j.g. White for their accomplishments! You can contact Tony Rennell at (202) 372-4002. Learn more about the winners’ achievements by reading the 2020 Captain Godfrey L. Carden and BM1 John C. Cullen Maritime Security Response Operations (MSRO) Excellence Award Winners ALCOAST 292/21.

Solicitation for FY21 Special Command Aide of the Year. Nominations are being sought for this annual award which recognizes the outstanding performance of Coast Guard Special Command Aides (SCAs) working within Coast Guard Representational Facilities (REPFAC) and the Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff residence. This award recognizes and encourages outstanding achievement, creativity, and contributions to the Coast Guard. Eligibility is based on individual performance and contributions between the dates of Oct. 1, 2020 and Sept. 30, 2021. Because the award is tailored to SCAs that serve in REPFACs, nominees must have served as an SCA in a REPFAC for at least six months during the qualifying period. SCAs who transferred during the competition year will compete from the REPFAC to which the SCA was assigned as of April 1, 2021. The member selected as the Coast Guard SCA of the Year will represent the Coast Guard at the Inter-Service Enlisted Aide of the Year Competition held in conjunction with the United Service Organization Salute to Military Chefs event in Washington, D.C. Previous SCA of the Year award winners are not eligible to apply. For more details, please contact SCA Program Manager, Senior Chief Petty Officer Derek Johnson, at (202) 372-4412. Additional information can be found in the Solicitation for FY21 Special Command Aide of the Year ALCOAST  291/21.