An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

My Coast Guard
Commentary | Jan. 12, 2024

Seeking nominations for the 2023 Captain Niels P. Thomsen Innovation Awards

By MyCG Team

Each year, the Coast Guard celebrates our creative workforce through the Captain Niels P. Thompson Innovation Awards, recognizing the most impactful innovations across the Coast Guard enterprise.  

The Research, Development and Innovation (RDI) leadership will vote to determine winners in six categories: 

  • Science or Technology 
  • Operations or Readiness 
  • Administration, Training or Support 
  • Culture Change 
  • Coast Guard Auxiliary Achievement
  • The Cmdr. Joel Magnussen Innovation Award for Management 

The annual awards recognize innovative efforts by the Coast Guard workforce to increase efficiency and productivity or provide other process improvements. The award's namesake is considered a legendary Coast Guard innovator; the chain stopper Thomsen developed in 2008 was credited with dramatically improving the safety of buoy tending operations for the Coast Guard.

Nominations can be submitted through a challenge on the Coast Guard’s crowd-sourcing platform, CG_Ideas@Work. All Coast Guard active duty, reserve, civilian, and auxiliary members are eligible to submit nominations. Nominations should describe an innovative solution and capture how it positively impacted the Service. Additional information can be found in ALCOAST 498/23

The final day to submit nominations is Jan. 31, 2024. To submit an idea use CG_Ideas@Work, which is now CAC-enabled, or register with a verified personal email address.  

Please contact for any questions. 




ALCOAST 498/23