An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

My Coast Guard
Commentary | June 3, 2024

Deadline Extended: Submit your nomination for the national Latina style award

By MyCG Staff

The deadline for the Coast Guard to receive nomination packages for the 2024 LATINA Style Distinguished Military Service Award has been extended to June 21, 2024. The award recognizes and celebrates the accomplishments of women who have enhanced the role of Latinas in their community, branch of the military, and their military branch’s academy. 

The award is open to Coast Guard service members (active duty and reserve), civilian employees, and Coast Guard Academy cadets. Anyone within the service can nominate an individual who is deserving of the award by submitting a package as outlined in ALCOAST 027/24. The award’s period of performance includes all accomplishments since June 2023. 

The award is looking for members who distinguish themselves as leaders and advocate for diversity and the full integration of Hispanic women / Latinas in the Armed Forces. 

Other qualities include those that: 

  • Embody the qualities that are at the core of the Coast Guard's missions. 
  • Contribute to creating opportunities and careers that support and advance Hispanics / Latin Americans.  
  • Display exceptional character and represent the Hispanic / Latino community with dignity and pride. 

Winners will be announced via an ALCOAST and will be recognized during the 21st Annual National LATINA Symposium Distinguished Military Service Award Program scheduled for September 2024 in Washington, DC. 

See ALCOAST 027-24 for instructions on how to submit packages before the extended deadline. If you have any questions, contact



ALCOAST 027-24 

To view past winners of the Coast Guard’s Civil Rights Awards, visit: