An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

My Coast Guard
Commentary | Jan. 19, 2024

Recognize, celebrate your coworker’s contributions to Civil Rights

By Edward Stoker, Civil Rights Awards Program Manager, Civil Rights Directorate

Every year the Coast Guard participates in national civil rights awards programs to enable you to recognize and celebrate your coworkers and their contributions to civil rights and equal opportunity. In 2024, you can recognize and celebrate your coworkers by nominating them for any of the following awards: 

  • Blacks In Government (BIG) Military Meritorious Service Award 
  • Federal Asian Pacific American Council (FAPAC) Civilian Awards 
  • Federal Asian Pacific American Council (FAPAC) Uniformed Services Award 
  • Federally Employed Women (FEW) Military Meritorious Service Award 
  • LATINA Style Distinguished Military Service Award 
  • League of United Latin American Citizens (LULAC) Excellence in Service Award 
  • National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) Roy Wilkins Renown Service Award 
  • Society of American Indian Government Employees (SAIGE) Meritorious Service Award 

The simple act of nominating a team member for an award can have a profound positive impact on the morale, productivity, and success of not only the team member but also the team. Therefore, you, whether military (active duty or reserve) or civilian, are encouraged to work through your chain of command to nominate deserving coworkers for civil rights awards. 

Between January and May, ALCOASTS soliciting nominations for each award will be posted. With the release of each ALCOAST, information regarding eligibility criteria, performance period, and nomination procedures will also be posted on the Civil Rights Directorate Civil Rights Award Program webpage so you can readily access guidance on when and how to submit a nomination for a Civil Rights Award. 

To learn about the accomplishments and contributions of last year’s Civil Rights Award winners, visit the 2023 Civil Rights Award Recipients webpage. If you have any questions about the Civil Rights Awards Program, contact Edward Stoker at